History of FATart

The meeting of the artist Ursina Gabriela Roesch with the artist and economist Mark Damon Harvey was decisive for the creation of FATart. Both of them had questioned their socialization and history since early childhood. Their critical world views became a breeding ground for an exchange.

Mark Damon Harvey und Ursina Gabriela Roesch

The exchange took place when the artist Ursina Gabriela Roesch helped to realize the exhibition under the title «Frauenpower» in 2016. The exhibition showed art by Zurich artists from the past 100 years.

3000 exhibits by 144 artists were showcased and honored for the first time on 2500m2. In doing so, the fire was kindled to bring the art of women to light. After the success of the exhibition, the artist Ursina Gabriela Roesch and the artist as well as intersectionality expert Mark Damon Harvey jointly founded “FATart” in November 2016.

It was an initiative with character and a role model  that sets new standards for the Swiss and international art scene.

 

Photo: Mark Damon Harvey and Ursina Gabriela Roesch (from left to right). (Photo by Jama Sanneh)

Since then, various projects have been set up that promote women | FLINT in the arts. The Femme Artist Table (FATart) is the only organization in Switzerland that is so committed to the concerns of women in the art market.

With numerous projects, including the FATart Fair, FATart is restlessly campaigning for presence, voice, visibility, attention and acceptance of women artists .

As of 2020 the founding team Ursina Gabriela Roesch and Mark Damon Harvey has been complemented by the queer feminist curator and art historian Pauline Della Bianca. With its curatorial management, FATart sets another milestone in the history of art for women.

 

With extraordinary commitment and inexhaustible perseverance, the core team Ursina Gabriela Roesch, Mark Damon Harvey and Pauline Della Bianca, together with indispensable helpers, advocate for equal and contemporary inclusion of women in the art world.

Geschichte von FATart

Ausschlaggebend für die Entstehung von FATart war die Begegnung der Künstlerin Ursina Gabriela Roesch mit dem Künstler und Ökonomen Mark Damon Harvey. Seit früher Kindheit hinterfragen beide ihre Sozialisierung und Geschichte. Die kritische Weltbetrachtung wurde im Austausch zum Nährboden. 

Zum Austausch kam es, als im Jahr 2016 die Künstlerin Ursina Gabriela Roesch die Ausstellung unter dem Titel «Frauenpower» mitrealisiert hat. Eine Ausstellung, die Kunst von Zürcher Künstlerinnen der letzten 100 Jahre zeigte.

Hier wurden 3000 Exponate von 144 Künstlerinnen auf 2500m2 zum ersten Mal ausgestellt und gewürdigt. Dabei wurde das Feuer entfacht die Kunst von Frauen ans Licht und zur Sprache zu bringen. Nach dem Erfolg der Ausstellung taten sich die Künstlerin Roesch und der Künstler sowie Intersektionalitätsexperte Harvey zusammen, um gemeinsam im November 2016 «FATart» zu gründen. 

Eine Initiative mit Charakter und Vorbildfunktion, die neue Massstäbe auf dem Schweizer und internationalen Kunstparkett setzt. 

Photo: Mark Damon Harvey und Ursina Gabriela Roesch (v.l.n.r.). (Photo von Jama Sanneh)

Seither sind verschiedene Projekte auf die Beine gestellt worden, die sich auf unterschiedliche Weise für Frauen in den Künsten einsetzen. Der Femme Artist Table (FATart) ist die einzige Organisation in der Schweiz, die sich für die Anliegen von Frauen im Kunstmarkt so stark macht.

Mit zahlreichen Projekten, unter anderem der Kunstmesse FATart Fair, setzt sich FATart rastlos für mehr Raum, Stimme, Gehör, Sichtbarkeit, Beachtung und Akzeptanz von Künstlerinnen | FLINT ein.

Seit 2020 wird das Gründungsteam Roesch und Harvey durch die queerfeministische Kuratorin und  Kunsthistorikerin Pauline Della Bianca komplementiert. Mit ihrer kuratorischen Leitung setzt die FATart einen weiteren Meilenstein in der Kunstgeschichte der Frauen.

 

Mit ausserordentlichem Engagement und unerschöpfbarem Durchhaltewillen setzt sich das Kernteam Roesch, Harvey und Della Bianca zusammen mit unentbehrlichen Helfer*innen, für eine gleichberechtigte und zeitgemässe Inklusion von Frauen | FLINT in der Kunstwelt ein.

Mehr zur inklusiven Sprache bei FATart finden Sie hier

Spenden: 

Femme Artist Table,

Ursina Gabriela Roesch, 8004  Zürich

IBAN: CH 12 0900 0000 1546 8854 6 

FATart-Adressen:

- Baumgartenstrasse 23

  8200 Schaffhausen
 

- Bullingerstrasse  73

   8004 Zürich
 

E-Mail: info(at)fatart.ch

© FATart 2018-2021  |  Impressum