Statistics speaks plain language

Studies from 2019 show that the proportion of women in solo exhibitions in Switzerland is only 15.1% on average. [1]

The sculpture and painting collection of the Kunsthaus Zürich, for example, comprises a total of 4,100 works, of which less than 4% [2] is comprised of women artists.

The Art Market Report 2019, published annually, also shows that only 36% living women artists worldwide are represented by galleries, fewer than 5% women artists are traded at auctions and not a single woman lists in the top ten artists  worldwide. [3] In addition, there are significant price differences between men and women artists.

 

FATart has a clear stance: It can't go on like this! We demand change!

 

 

 

Source reference:

 

[1] Alexandra Kohler: Swiss museums show little art by women, Swissinfo, June 2019. https://www.swissinfo.ch/ger/datenrecherche_schweizer-museen-haben-wenig-kunst-von-frauen/44938902 (accessed: 18.01 .2021).

[2] Since 2010 the artist and researcher Elisabeth Eberle has been collecting examples and statistics on the gender gap in her long-term project «Women * count» to confront art institutions with the discrimination practices taking place within them. http://www.elisabetheble.ch/

[3] Dr. Clare McAndrew: The Art Basel and UBS Global Art Market Report 2019, Published by Art Basel, 2019, PDF. https://d2u3kfwd92fzu7.cloudfront.net/The_Art_Market_2019-5.pdf (accessed: January 18, 2021)

Statistik spricht Klartext 

Studien aus dem Jahr 2019 belegen, dass der Frauenanteil bei Einzelausstellungen in der Schweiz bei durchschnittlich lediglich 15,1% liegt. [1]

Die Skulptur- und Malereisammlung des Kunsthaus Zürich umfasst beispielsweise insgesamt 4100 Werke, wobei nur 156 von 74 Künstlerinnen sind.[2]  Das sind weniger als 4%!

Auch der jährlich publizierte Art Market Report 2019 zeigt auf, dass weltweit nur knappe 36% lebende Künstlerinnen von Galerien repräsentiert werden, weniger als 5% Künstlerinnen werden bei Auktionen gehandelt und die Top-Ten Künstler der Welt listet keine einzige Frau.[3]  Zudem sind erhebliche Preisunterschiede von Kunstwerken bei männlichen und weiblichen Kunstschaffenden festzustellen. 

 

FATart findet: Das geht so nicht weiter! Wir schaffen Veränderung!

Quellenverweis:

 

[1] Alexandra Kohler: Schweizer Museen zeigen wenig Kunst von Frauen, Swissinfo, Juni 2019. https://www.swissinfo.ch/ger/datenrecherche_schweizer-museen-zeigen-wenig-kunst-von-frauen/44938902 (Abgerufen: 18.01.2021).

[2] Seit 2010 sammelt die Künstlerin und Forscherin Elisabeth Eberle in ihrem Langzeitprojekt «Frauen* zählen» Beispiele und Zahlenmaterial zum Gender Gap, um Kunstinstitutionen mit der starken Diskriminierung, die in ihrem Inneren stattfindet, zu konfrontieren. http://www.elisabetheberle.ch/

[3] Dr. Clare McAndrew: The Art Basel and UBS Global Art Market Report 2019, Published by Art Basel, 2019, PDF. https://d2u3kfwd92fzu7.cloudfront.net/The_Art_Market_2019-5.pdf (Abgerufen: 18.01.2021)